As a Committee Member and Vice Chair, my focus is on promoting and enabling our schools and scholars to embrace a culture that is inclusive, safe, resilient, and sustainable.

I wanted to join the committee because I’ve lived most of adult life in Sun Prairie and have for a long time wanted to be more involved in the community, and even more so now that I’m a parent of a 5-year-old. My professional background is in sustainability, energy efficiency, and renewable energy— including strategic planning, project management, and marketing of utility and private initiatives. This is my chosen career as I cannot imagine spending so much time at work doing something I don’t believe in. I believe that local initiatives like Sun Prairie Sustainability Committee are imperative to the public/private partnerships we need to create a sustainable energy future for all.


About the Sun Prairie Sustainability Committee

From May 2020 to April 2021, the Sustainability Task Force met to determine a roadmap to advance sustainability initiatives in Sun Prairie. You can review the final report, including staff and public survey results. The Common Council ordained a permanent Sustainability Committee which held its first meeting in September 2021. A Strategic Framework was presented which builds off the final report and provides direction to the Committee. 

Here I’ve included an excerpt from the article, as well as the full article at the link below.

Council OK’s Sustainability Committee appointments

By Chris Mertes |  Aug 24, 2021

The Sun Prairie City Council on Aug. 17 approved the appointments of six members to the first-ever City Sustainability Committee: Jayanta Chatterjee, Amy Thurow, Kelly C. Lang Mulder, Kathryn Piela, Sumedha Yarlagadda and Sun Prairie Area School District Sustainability/Energy Manager Kevin Splain will join Chair and District 3 Alder Mike Jacobs on the committee.